More Than Ready Mile Advertisement Banner  
Carded at the Breeders’ Cup Turf conditions of 1½ miles for horses three years old and up, the Grade III Kentucky Turf Cup is the signature race of Kentucky Downs’ live race meet.

Da Big Hoss takes the $300,000 Grade 3 Kentucky Turf Cup

Da Big Hoss horse

FRANKLIN, KY (SEPTEMBER 14, 2015) It was Da Big Hoss for the big win at Kentucky Downs today as the Mike Maker trainee captured the $600,000 Grade 3 Kentucky Turf Cup, the jewel in the crown of the Franklin oval’s live racing meet.

It was the fourth consecutive victory for the 4-year-old son of Lemon Drop Kid, who last captured the John’s Call Stakes at Saratoga, his first stakes outing.

Ridden by Joe Rocco Jr, Da Big Hoss had a ground-saving trip on the inside then showed his big kick in the final furlong of the 1 ½ mile contest to overcome Power Ped and pacesetter Roman Approval, who held on for third.

Past winners of the Kentucky Turf Cup have come from the barns of some of the most respected trainers in racing and have been ridden by jockeys whose names and records are very familiar to fans of Thoroughbred racing.

Kentucky Turf Cup Winners
2015Da Big HossJoe Rocco JrMichael J. MakerSkychai Racing LLC2:33.40
2014SuntracerFlorent GerouxChris BlockTeam Block2:27.12
2013TemeraineGary L. StevensThomas F. ProctorNiall Racing2:29.18
2012Ioya BigtimeJeffrey SanchezChris BlockTeam Block2:30.06
2011RahystradaGreta KuntzweilerByron “Scooter” HughesRobert Courtney Jr.2:32.40
2010RezifGreta KuntzweilerMatthew JacobsenSexton/Jacobson/Baughman2:44.74
2009Cloudy’s KnightRosemary Homeister, Jr.Jonathan E. SheppardS J Stables LLC2:33.96
2008Rumor Has ItEddie PerezDavid H. HinsleyW. Patterson/J. Glenn2:28.27
2007General JumboJeremy RoseH. Graham MotionThomas Conway2:26.98
2006EmbossedLarry MelanconNiall O’CallaghanGary A. Tanaka2:36.92
2005SilverfootRafael BejaranoDallas StewartChrysalis Stables2:30.30
2004SabiangoBrice BlancTim YakteenMonty Roberts2:33.70
2003RochesterEddie Martin, Jr.Jonathan SheppardAugustine Stable2:31.39
2002RochesterEddie Martin, Jr.Jonathan SheppardAugustine Stable2:38.28
2001ChorwonJon CourtHal R. WigginsThomas C. Mueller2:28.68
2000Down The AisleRobby AlbaradoWilliam I. MottCharles H. Deters2:27.70
1999FahrisShane SellersKiaran McLaughlinSabine Stable2:29.60
1998YaqthanBrian PeckAnthony ReinstedlerMerdonmar Stable2:27.60
1995LassignyPat DayWilliam I. MottSaud al Kabeer2:30.60
1994Lindon LimeShane SellersW. Elliott WaldenF. Mansell2:31.40
1993Know HeightsKent DesormeauxRobert B. Hess, Jr.M. Sloan2:25.60
1992Drummer BoyGarrett GomezDennis W. EbertE. Ebert2:28.40
1991Silver MedallionCraig Perret PhilipM. HauswaldJohn A. Franks2:31.30

NOTE: The Kentucky Turf Cup was not contested in 1996 and 1997.